• Woman of Distinction Luncheon

    The Women Community Leaders Committee works to empower women to succeed and be recognized as leaders in the community, through education, support and involvement. Each year the committee holds the annual Woman of Distinction Luncheon to recognize leaders in the community. The event features a guest speaker on leadership development and motivational direction.  


     The Woman of Distinction Luncheon generally
     recognizes three outstanding women living and/or 
     working in the Yankton Area. 


     The Next Luncheon is tentatively scheduled for October 3, 2015.


    2014 Awards were presented as follows:

         *One Outstanding Professional Woman
           ~This award is dedicated to women who excel and show leadership in their
             profession and are models and mentors for others in the community.
           ~2014 WINNER: Marcy Moser


        *One Outstanding Woman Leader in Community Service
           ~This award is dedicated to women leaders who work to improve the
             community of Yankton by being an active volunteer, a role model for 
             other community leaders and an advocate for public awareness.
           ~2014 WINNER: Lois Halbur


        *One Rising Star Woman 
          ~This award is dedicated to women, 35 years of age and younger, as 
            recognition of their leadership and accomplishments that have laid the
            foundation for future service and served as an inspiration for other
            leaders both professionally and in community service.
          ~2014 WINNER: Frani Kieffer



    2014 Winners – Frani Kieffer, Lois Halbur, Marcy Moser
    2013  Winners – Jane Pugh and Judi O’Connell
    2012 Winners – Kim Jensen and Sarah Carda
    2011 Winners – Dr. Lori Hansen and Nancy Wenande
    2010 Winners – Dr. Pam Rezac and Pam Kettering
    2009 Winners – Marian Gunderson


    Past nominees for Woman of Distinction awards: Pauline Akland, Dores Allan, Elizabeth Allemand, Roberta Ambur, Carolyn Becker, Bridget Benson, Sarah Carda, Joanne Christensen, Denise Cody, Leila Elder, Mary Fiedler, Jane Gilmore, Marjorie Gross, Darla Gullickson, Marian Gunderson, Lois Halbur, Mary Alice Halverson, Carol Hamvas, Dr. Lori Hansen, Karen Harmelink, Dr. Paula Hicks, Dagmar Hoxsie, Jean Hunhoff, Kim Jensen, Jennifer Johnke, Pam Kallis, Gail Kennedy, Pam Kettering, Frani Kieffer, Lori Lincoln, Margaret Lyons, Donna Madson, Dr. Mary Milroy, Marcy Moser, Crystal Nelson, Joan Neubauer, Judi O’Connell, Julie Perakslis, Rebecca Peterson, Sean Potas, Jane Pugh, Diane Reese, Cathy Rehfuss, Dr. Pam Rezac, Pauline Rhoades, Diana Roth, Micki Schievelbein, Leah Smith, Allison Spak, Nancy Sternquist, Dawn Stoner, Nancy Teachout, Sr. Margo Tschetter, Pam VanMeeteren, Betty Viau, Nancy Wenande and Sheila Woodward.



    • (800) 888-1460
    • (605) 665-3636
    • 803 E. 4th St.
    • Yankton, SD
    • 57078