Skip to content

Opportunity Zones

There are 25 Opportunity Zones in South Dakota, including Census tracts 461359663.01 and 461359663.02, which are both located in Yankton County. Printable maps of local Opportunity Zones are available below.

What are Opportunity Zones & why are they important?

Opportunity Zones are census tracts generally composed of economically distressed communities that qualify for the Opportunity Zone designation according to criteria outlined in 2017’s Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. Since the passage of the law, Opportunity Zones have been designated in all 50 states in the US, the District of Columbia, and five US possessions (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands).

Opportunity Zones were created to revitalize economically distressed communities using private investments rather than taxpayer dollars. To stimulate private participation, taxpayers who invest in Qualified Opportunity Zones are eligible to benefit from capital gains tax incentives available exclusively through this new legislation.

Opportunity Zones in Yankton County (click on images for printable pdf)

Census Tract 461359663.01

Census Tract 461359663.02

Scroll To Top